ASCAP Pop Music Awards in Hollywood

David-Guetta-ASCAP-Pop-Music-Awards- Hollywood-Beverly-Hills-Magazine
David-Guetta-ASCAP-Pop-Music-Awards- Hollywood-Beverly-Hills-Magazine

 The 30th Annual ASCAP Awards hosted at The Loews Hotel in Hollywood on April 17th 2013 were nothing short of amazing. A star studded line up of music industry executives and contributors graced the red carpet and joined their colleagues in a fun filled evening to honor songwriters and publishers of 2012’s hottest POP Music tracks.

 Some of the talented Hollywood artists included Katy Perry, Flo Rida, Dr. Luke, David Guetta, Diplo, Sia, Max Martin, Bruno Mars, (The Smeezingtons), Ne-Yo, Savan Kotecha, Greg Kurstin, Inara George, Calvin Harris, Becky G, Katharine McPhee, Theron “Neff-U” Feemster, Rick Nowels, Martin Page and more.

Steven Tyler & Joe Perry of Aerosmith received the ASCAP Founders Award

Steven Tyler and Joe Perry, ASCAP Pop Music Awards
Steven Tyler and Joe Perry, ASCAP Pop Music Awards

The Hollywood ASCAP Founders Award is among the most prestigious honors that ASCAP gives to songwriters and composers who have made pioneering contributions to music by inspiring and influencing their fellow music creators. Each recipient is a musical innovator who possesses a unique style of creative genius that will enrich generations to come.

Past recipients include Ashford & Simpson, Burt Bacharach & Hal David, Alan & Marilyn Bergman, Jackson Browne, Elvis Costello, Billy Joel, Annie Lennox, Sir Paul McCartney, Joni Mitchell, Smokey Robinson, Carly Simon, Patti Smith, Steely Dan, Rod Stewart, James Taylor, Tom Waits, Ann & Nancy Wilson (Heart), Stevie Wonder and Neil Young.

 Diplo was this year’s honoree for the ASCAP Vanguard Award

The ASCAP Vanguard Award recognizes the impact of musical genres that help shape the future of American music. Past ASCAP Vanguard Award honorees include The All-American Rejects, Arcade Fire, Band of Horses, Beastie Boys, Beck, Björk, Jack Johnson, The Killers, Modest Mouse and The Strokes.

Top Awards were presented to:

  • Songwriter of The Year: Max Martin
  • Song of the Year: “We Are Young” by Fun. Written by Andrew Dost and Nate Ruess.
  • Publisher of the Year: Sony/ATV Tunes LLC
  • Independent Publisher of the Year: Prescription Songs LLC
  • Publisher Administrator of the Year: Kobalt Music Publishing America, Inc


 About ASCAP

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music. ASCAP’s mission is to license and promote the music of its members and foreign affiliates, obtain fair compensation for the public performance of their works and to distribute the royalties that it collects based upon those performances. ASCAP members write the world’s best-loved music and ASCAP has pioneered the efficient licensing of that music to hundreds of thousands of enterprises who use it

to add value to their business – from bars, restaurants and retail, to radio, TV and cable, to Internet, mobile services and more. The ASCAP license offers an efficient solution for businesses to legally perform ASCAP music while respecting the right of songwriters and composers to be paid fairly. With 450,000 members representing more than 8.5 million copyrighted works, ASCAP is the worldwide leader in performance royalties, service and advocacy for songwriters and composers, and the only American performing rights organization (PRO) owned and governed by its writer and publisher members.

Jacqueline Maddison is the Founder and Editor-in-Chief of Beverly Hills Magazine. She believes in shining light on the best of the best in life. She welcomes you into the world of the rich and famous with the ultimate luxury lifestyle.
Translate »